Gort in Our Time

I was on a panel for technology and innovation recently and it was dominated by AI. I tried to get ginned up for AI but struggled. It’s personal. I studied Prolog in the 80’s and thought it was the next big thing. It’s taken forty years to get to the point where we are now, so the hyperbole feels a bit stale.

Don’t get me wrong, I think it’s an important technology. Soon to be embedded into everything. It’s just taken a lot longer than intended. What we are seeing now feels like an incremental innovation - not an exponential one, like the Internet or CRISPR. Or, like, Blockchain.

I’m much more excited by Blockchain. It is more exponential to me. And it’s not because of the ardent and very-vocal passion of Bitcoiners or cryptocurrency in general - those are just proof-of-concept. To me, the real innovation is that never before have we had the prospect of un-hackable code running on an un-stoppable computer. The current incarnation of which is best exemplified by Ethereum. Yes, there are plenty of others but they haven’t captured the imagination of as large a developer community nor have they survived as long.

Being on the panel helped me realize my own origin story on this. When I first studied AI, it was not the thought of intelligent machines that got me going; it was the thought of autonomous software agents becoming intelligent enough to do really bigger and better things for humanity.