Framing and Aspecting - words precede cognition

I studied linguistic anthropology in school because I have always been fascinated by the power of words to shape cognition. The more words we have, the greater our perception. But words can also mislead us. I recall one lesson in which a fatal accident occurred at a petroleum storage site because caution hadn’t been observed around the drums that were labeled as ‘empty’. Empty drums contained fumes which were more flammable than liquid drums yet the word ‘empty’ implied less danger in people’s minds than a drum ‘full’ of gasoline.

If you speak multiple languages then you are well aware of the power of words to expand perception. Eskimos have 40+ words for snow much of which are useful to navigate life and death situations. One of the joys of Yiddish is learning all the rich and colorful classifications of people and situations that may have flashed through your mind subconsciously at some point in time (and were then promptly forgotten) but which the language concretizes into something useful. By giving words to an idea, you conceptualize the subconscious. It is a tool that aids perception.

On the flip side, words and concepts can also be used to close the doors to perception. What can be a short-hand for communication can be a short-circuit to original thinking. How we frame a situation, therefore, is important to our understanding. It is critical, then, to be mindful of overusing concepts and framing to the point that they become factoids and tropes.

I’ve been feeling this way when I listen to financial news, lately. And I find myself asking very basic questions in order to not feel steamrollered into taking the status quo as gospel and being misled.

For example, there’s been a lot of talk about the US Federal Reserve’s decisions to dramatically raise interest rates to fight inflation and the Treasury’s need to issue government debt. The two words - inflation and debt - require closer inspection.